Porthgain is situated on the Pembrokeshire National Coast Path - Britain's only coastal National Park, and has a long and interesting industrial history. The mining began in earnest around 1890 and employed roughly 200 men and boys in its heyday
Slate was first quarried in 1841, and brought over from Abereiddy and was used principally for roofing. The quality of the slate, however was fairly poor compared to other slates, and had a relatively short life. A by - product of the slate was brick making which were then fired in the kiln next to The Shed, now sadly demolished.
The main quarries lie up to the left of Porthgain and are accessible. Many of the old buildings still remain, and provide a unique insight into industrial heritage. Indeed, our Shed was once the machine shop for the engines, and the large building next door; Ty Mawr (Big House) was where the bricks were made.
Porthgain has two excellent art galleries, the renowned walkers' pub, The Sloop Inn. A telephone box & post box is on the left as you enter the village. During the summer months a daily coastal bus connects all the local hamlets between St Davids & Fishguard. A restricted service operates through the winter.